Cause for celebration

Monday, December 18, 2017

Eastern Health has applauded the outstanding contribution of its staff and volunteers at its annual A2i (Aspire to Inspire) Awards.

Nominees from across all programs and sites were acknowledged for their extraordinary commitment to exemplifying Eastern Health’s key values and organisational priorities.

This year’s event saw awards for new values including Patients First, Agility and Humility. The new values form part of Eastern Health’s Strategic Plan 2017-2022, which was released earlier this year.

Eastern Health Chief Executive Adjunct Professor David Plunkett congratulated all award recipients, including long serving staff members who were also acknowledged at the event.

"Your dedication is very much appreciated."

Adj Prof Plunkett also thanked the event's sponsors for their ongoing support, including Smartleasing, HESTA, CFS Australasia, the LSJ Collection, BankVic and G & C Mutual Bank.

"We are grateful for their generosity and willingness to partner with us.”

Recipients from this year’s Awards included:

Patients First: Georgie Shoebridge, Cardiac / Heart Failure Rehabilitation Co-ordinator, Community Rehabilitation Wantirna Health, Angliss Community Rehabilitation Centre and Yarra Ranges

Kindness: Kathryn MacDonald, Nurse Unit Manager, Northside Residential Aged Care Service, Peter James Centre

Respect: Brad Wynne, Associate Program Director, Adult Community and Service Development, Mental Health

Excellence: Dr Timothy McIver, Specialist Anaesthetist and Supervisor of Training Surgery / Anaesthesia, Box Hill Hospital

Agility: Cath Hunkin and Ward 2 West Nursing Staff, Angliss Hospital, Angliss Hospital/Healesville Hospital & Yarra Valley Health/ Yarra Ranges Health

Humility: Daniel Raftis, Management Accountant, Acute and Aged Medicine, Peter James Centre

Workplace Safety & Wellbeing Award (sponsored by BankVic): Anne Pagram, Physiotherapy Acute Operations Manager, Allied Health, Maroondah Hospital

Volunteer Award (sponsored by the Eastern Health Board): June Goudie, Volunteer, Angliss Hospital

Angliss Hospital/Healesville Hospital & Yarra Valley Health/ Yarra Ranges Health

Sustainability Award (sponsored by the LSJ Collection): Paul Roberts, Management Accountant, Finance, Statewide Services

Closing the Health Gap Award (sponsored by G&C Mutual Bank): Kate Locastro, Aboriginal Engagement Clinician, Adult Mental Health Program, Mental Health

Consumer Participation Award (sponsored by CFS Australasia:  Chris Bruce, Associate Director of Allied Health, Speech Pathology, Allied Health, Angliss Hospital/Healesville Hospital & Yarra Valley Health/ Yarra Ranges Health