Staff and volunteers shine at A2i awards

Friday, September 06, 2019
Staff and volunteers shine at A2i awards

Eastern Health’s Annual A2i (Aspire to Inspire) Awards were held on Thursday 5 September to celebrate the contributions of staff and volunteers across the organisation. Attendees enjoyed performances by Brodie O’Halloran and Matilda Weaver of Creative Souls Studio.

At the event, recipients of the Eastern Health Values and Achievement Awards were announced – see below for a full list. Long-serving employees who have dedicated 25, 30, 35, 40, and 45 years of service were also acknowledged.

Eastern Health would like to thank major sponsor Smartleasing, program sponsor HESTA and Achievement Award sponsors Bank Vic, CFS Australasia and the LSJ Collection for their ongoing support of this prestigious event. 



Patients First: Karen Bakker, Health Assistant in Nursing, Ward 2 North, Maroondah Hospital

Kindness: Suzanne Watters, Clinical Support Technician, Pharmacy, Box Hill Hospital

Respect: Brendan King, Grade 2 Occupational Therapist, Community Rehabilitation, Program/Early Supported, Discharge Team, Peter James Centre & Wantirna Health

Excellence: Katie Laird, Advisor, Organisational Development, Box Hill Hospital

Agility: Lucy Psarogiannis, Service Desk Lead, Information Technology, Box Hill Hospital

Humility: Dr Patrick Carney, Neurologist, Specialty Medicine, Box Hill Hospital 

Workplace Safety & Wellbeing (Sponsored by BankVic): Julie Stevens, Physiotherapy Assistant, Allied Health, Angliss Hospital, Yarra Ranges

Sustainability (Sponsored by LSJ Collection): Adele O’Brien, Registered Nurse, Ward 2 South – Day Procedure Unit, Maroondah Hospital

Volunteer (Sponsored by the Eastern Health Board): Ian Bristow, Aged Persons Mental Health, South Ward, Mental Health Program

Closing the Health Gap (Sponsored by BankVic): Reaching Out Team, Turning Point, Statewide Services

Consumer Participation (Sponsored by CFS Australasia): A/Prof Paul Katz, Executive Clinical Director, Mental Health Program